Benin City to host Nigeria Women Premier League Super 4 tournament

The Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) Super Four will be hosted between September 11 and 16 in Edo State after Governor Godwin Obaseki gave his consent for the tournament to go ahead in Benin City.

The tournament will feature four clubs that qualified from Group A and B from the regular season and they will include reigning league champions Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Delta Queens and Nasarawa Amazons at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium from September 12.

Speaking at the draw on Wednesday, Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) chairperson, Aisha Falode said: “To the four teams that have qualified for the Super 4, we salute your outstanding performance and you are all true
torchbearers in the steadily flourishing Nigeria Women Premier League under the supervision of this NWFL board – Congratulations! You are the main reason we are gathered here today (Wednesday).

“I must therefore without further hesitation congratulate Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens and Nasarawa Amazons for their doggedness and grit to pen down Super 4 tickets.

“The Super 4 campaigners are already known what is left is to put in place a befitting championship that will see one of this quartet emerge champions of the 2016/17 NWPL season. I wish all the teams the best in this quest,”
she concluded.

The winner of the Super 4 will be #3m richer while the runners up will earn #2m.