National News

2015 Polls: Buhari ahead of Jonathan as INEC releases results in 2nd phase

Presidential candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), General Muhammadu Buhari (rtd.) was in the lead yesterday, as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) began release of results of the presidential election.

Results of eight states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) earlier released had put the Katsina State-born former military head of state running neck and neck with President Goodluck Jonathan. But Buhari later surged ahead in comfortable lead when collation resumed at 8.45 p.m. yesterday.

President Jonathan had earlier polled a total of 2,322,734 votes, while that of General Buhari (rtd.) was 2,302,978 votes. By that, President Jonathan was leading General Buhari with 19,756.

At the second stage of release of results, Buhari polled 1,903,999 in Kano, in Jigawa he had 885,988, in Katsina he got 1,345,441 and 302,146 in Kwara State. He polled 1,129,760 in Kaduna and got 17,926 in Anambra; 58,411 in Akwa Ibom and 13,394 in Abia states respectively.

For President Jonathan, he got 215,779 in Kano; 142,904 in Jigawa; 98,937 in Katsina ; 132,602 in Kwara ; 484,085 in Kaduna; 660,762 in Anambra; 559,185 in Imo, 953,304 in Akwa Ibom and 368,303 in Abia State. By these figures, Buhari is leading Jonathan with 1,952,982.

The result of the presidential election in Ekiti State was announced by the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, who is the State Collation Officer, Professor Adebiyi Daramola, that of Ogun was presented by Prof. Duro Oni, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Management Services of the University of Lagos.

That of Enugu State was announced by Prof. Hillary Edoga, the Vice Chancellor of Michael Opara University of Agriculture, while the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Abuja, Prof. M. U Adigwu, presented Kogi State’s results.

Professor Isaac Asuzu, the Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State, announced the result from Osun State, with Prof. Olusola Oyewole, the Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, announcing the result from Ondo State.

Prof Michael Faborode, the immediate past Vice Chancellor of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, announced the result of the presidential election from the Federal Capital Territory, while that of Oyo State was announced by Prof. Ayobami Salami, DVC, Academics, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

The result of the election in Nasarawa State was announced by the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Lokoja, Professor Abdulmumuni Rafindadi.

Results of the remaining states were being expected as at press time yesterday.

Professor Attahiru Jega, Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had announced after the release of the first batch that the second leg would commence by 8pm yesterday.