2020 Flying Officers Cup: Bayelsa Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Edo Queens And Niaja Ratels confirm receipt of prize money

2020 Flying Officers Cup champions Bayelsa Queens have acknowledged receipt of payment of N500,000 for the competition’s prize money on Sunday evening.

Bayelsa defeated Nasarawa Amazons 1-0 to clinch the title, while Edo Queens edged Naija Ratels in the earlier third place match at the Guards Brigade Stadium, Abuja.

Besides the new champions, runners-up Nasarawa have received N300,000, while Edo Queens and Naija Ratels bagged N200,000 and N150,000 for finishing third and fourth respectively.

President of Ratels Sports Foundation, Barrister Paul Edeh said it was necessary for the payment to be made in time, announced and well documented for transparency sake.

The legal luminary also thanked all the teams that participated at the Preseason Championship and urged them to use the technical lessons learnt from the competition to prepare well ahead of their various leagues.

Beyond the prize money, clubs that crashed out in the first round will get N60,000 each, while all their coaches will also smile home with N20,000 each.

Furthermore, clubs also got free accommodations all through the period of the competition with their feedings well taken care of by the organisers and they were also given a set of branded jerseys with ten branded balls each.

The Flying Officers Cup was formerly known as the Naija Ratels Pre-season Championship and it was renamed to honour the memories of the late Flying Officer, Tolulope Arotile.