Bayelsa Queens are 2020 Flying Officers Cup champions

Bayelsa Queens emerged as winners of the 2020 Flying Officers Cup after a slim 1-0 win over Nasarawa Amazons on Sunday evening in Abuja.

Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL), Aisha Falode declared the final game opened, while the mother of the late Flying Officer Mrs. Arotile performed the official kick.

Before kick-off, a moment of silence was held in memory of the late Flying Officer, Tolulope Arotile, whose parents were present here at the Guards Brigade Stadium.

Barakat Olaiya’s only goal of the tournament in the 14th minute was all Bayelsa Queens required to subdue 2019 AITEO Cup Champions to win the women football pre-season championship.

Coming into the competition, they had launched their campaign with a 7-0 win over Honey Badgers and followed up with two draws against Confluence Queens and Nasarawa Amazons.

They went on to defeat Edo Queens 1-0 in the semi-final to reach the final.

As Champions, Bayelsa Queens will go home with a giant trophy and N500,000 prize money. Second-placed Nasarawa Amazons will also go home with N300,000 prize money, while Edo Queens will hold on to N200,000.

For individual awards, Naija Ratels’ Bankole Olowookere was named the Best Behaved Coach and the Fair Play Award went to Naija Ratels, while Best Coach was Bayelsa Queens’ Moses Aduku.

Naija Ratels’ Blessing Emmanuel won the Best Goal, Bayelsa Queens’ Onyinyechukwu Okeke claimed the Golden Gloves and Bayelsa Queens’ Joy Jerry was voted the Most Valuable Player, while Confluence Queens’ Joy Omewa bagged the topscorer gong, with six goals.