Edo Governorship Election: Osagie Ize-Iyamu congratulates Godwin Obaseki, concedes defeat

Incumbent Edo state governor Godwin Obaseki, was, on Sunday, returned to power in the governorship election that saw his victory over APC standard-bearer Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the national ruling All Progressive Change Party, APC, hours later conceded defeat and took to social media about 1.19 pm with the last Local government yet to return its results.

At that time, Obaseki was already leading by 302,017 to the 212,983 votes scored by Ize-Iyamu in the two-way race between PDP and APC from the declared results in the 17 LGAs.

With the eyes of the world focused on Benin after the Saturday governorship elections, Ize-Iyamu put a foot in a personal march towards international statesmanship when he conceded victory to Obaseki once the trend of the results put Buhari in an unassailable lead on Sunday.

Obaseki, the incumbent governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP defeated Ize-Iyamu, the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

PDP by 302,017 to the 212,983 votes, according to final results declared by the state returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Sunday afternoon.