News Sports

Okagbare, Mikel, Moses Make NAS Awards List

The second edition of the coveted Nigerian Sports Award (NSA) promoted by Unmissable Incentives Limited in partnership with Master Sports International and Sports Radio 88.9 (Brila FM) has reached the voting phase with the emergence of the top three nominees for the different categories.

Unveiling the list of the top three finalists for all categories of the award at a press conference held yesterday, the General Manager, Unmissable Incentives, Mr. Kayode Idowu noted that the shortlist was very hectic as the award panel met for almost 10 hours to scrutinise the long list of nominations from members of the public to narrow it down to the top three for each category

According to Idowu, the trio of John Mikel Obi, Victor Moses and Sunday Mba were top three nominees for Footballer of the Year (male), Perpetua Nkwocha, Stella Mbachu, Desire Oparanozie Footballer of the year (female) while Ike Diogu, Haruna Quadri and Olumide Oyedeji for Ball Sports Personality of the year.

Speaking further on the shortlist, Idowu announced that the Nigerian double medalist at the just concluded IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Blessing Okagbare and Muizat Ajoke Odumosu were nominated for Track and Field Star of the Year category.

He added that the reigning African football champion, the Super Eagles, Warri Wolves Football Club and Kano Pillars Football Club were the top three nominees for the Team of the Year Award while the coach of the victorious Super Eagles, Coach Stephen Keshi battles Manu Garba of Golden Eaglets for the Coach of the year category.

John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Sunday Mba would battle For the Sportsman of the year Award while Blessing Okagbare, Cecelia Otu-Akpan, Ebere Orji for the Sportswoman of the year while Divine Oduduru, Oghenekaro Etebo, Adewale Deborah are up for the Discovery of the Year award

Other nominees for other categories are; School Sports – Ogedengbe primary school Warri, Keke High school, Agege, Greensprings School, Lagos, Sports Administrator of the year – Amaju Pinnick, Solomon Ogba & Aminu Maigari and Sports governor of the year – Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN), Liyel Imoke

Also speaking at the Press conference, the Chairman of the award panel, Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo explained that public voting is open for the Sportsman and Sportswoman categories while other category winners would be decided by the panel.