Int'l Football Sports

Two players withdraw from Nigeria women’s squad for US Summer Series

By Samuel Ahmadu

Nigeria women’s national team will miss the services of two key squad members ahead of their participation in the 2021 Summer Series in Texas, USA next week, SavidNews can confirm.

The reigning African champions have been invited to join World Cup holders the US women’s team (USWNT), as they prepare for the Olympics, as well as Jamaica and Portugal in the four-team event set to take place between 10 and 16 June.

After the 2021 Turkish Women’s Cup triumph over CSKA Moscow, Uzbekistan, and Equatorial Guinea in February, the Super Falcons will hope to regroup for the second tournament of the year.

Despite naming a 25-player roaster two weeks ago, Randy Waldrum will be without versatile Sweden based midfielder Halimatu Ayinde, having picked up a knee injury in action for Damallsvenskan outfit Eskilstuna FC against Hackens recently.

American-born Patricia George, who recently switched her international allegience will also not be able to suit up for the West Africans, after the defender suffered an injury in Sands FC’s build up to the relegation deciding final game of the season against Bayer Leverkusen on Sunday.

With the two withdrawals, Waldrum is now left with 23 players on his roaster, comprising of 10 home-based players and 13 foreign based professionals for the seven-day competition.

The Super Falcons will begin the invitational tournament against Jamaica at BBVA Stadium in Houston on 10 June, followed by a meeting with Portugal three days later at the same venue.

Before traveling to Austin’s Q2 stadium to face four-time World and Olympics champions USA at the home of new Major League Soccer club, Austin FC, on 16 June.

Nigeria will hope to intensify their preparations for October’s showdown with Ghana in the first round of the qualifying series for next year’s Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (CD Pozoalbense, Spain); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Inyene Etim (Abia Angels FC)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Minsk FC, Belarus); Gloria Ogbonna (Edo Queens FC); Osinachi Ohale (Madrid CFF, Spain); Oluwatosin Dimehin (Sunshine Queens FC); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain); Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens FC); Esther Ogbonna (Sunshine Queens FC)

Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Celine Ottah (Bayelsa Queens FC); Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Amanda Mbadi (Bayelsa Queens FC)

Forwards: Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Rivers Angels FC); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Francisca Ordega (Levante FC, Spain); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens FC); Charity Adule (SD Eibars FC, Spain)