Africa Int'l Football Nigeria Leagues Sports

WAFU-B confirms six teams for maiden Women’s Champions League playoffs, explains Benin Republic exclusion

The West African Football Union (WAFU-B) has announced six teams will participate in the inaugural WAFU-B Women’s Champions League next month in Cote d’Ivoire.

In May, Wafu B had earlier announced Cote d’Ivoire as the host of the 2021 WAFU-B Zonal Qualifiers for CAF Women’s Champions League from July 17 to 30, 2021 in Abidjan.

Earlier in 2020, Caf had introduced the women’s clubs championship, following the footsteps of Union of European Football Association (UEFA) and Asia Football Confederation (AFC).

And on Friday, Wafu B confirmed that six out of seven countries will play in the maiden edition of the West African B region this summer, with Benin Republic excluded from the matter.

2021 champions US Forces Armees (USFA) will represent Burkina Faso just as Rivers Angels will hoist the flag of Nigeria after winning the 2021 Nigerian Women’s Premier League.

Despite 2019 winners Hasaacas Ladies FC were endorsed to represent Ghana, likewise Onze Soeur de Gagnoa, who will represent the host nation Cote d’Ivoire, same as AS Police (Niger Republic), and Amis du Monde (Togo).

The six teams will challenge for two slots up from the region for the 2021 CAF Women’s Champions League which will hold in Egypt.

Speaking on the surprise exclusion of Benin Republic, an official told SavidNews that the West African nation failed to meet the deadline of participating team submission.

“Benin did not register. They had not started the championship at the time of the closing of registrations,” said the WAFU-B official.

Meanwhile, the draw ceremony for the group stage of the regional competition earlier scheduled for June 15 has now been moved to June 25.

“Following the circular on June 2nd 2021, relating to the preparation criteria and licensing procedure of the clubs to participate in the CAF Egypt 2021 Women Champions League (Zonal qualifiers and final qualifying phase), the draw for the Group matches of the West Zone B initially scheduled for June 15th 2021, is postponed to June 25th at the headquarters of WAFU B in Abidjan’’ a WAFU B statement read.

The 2021 Women’s Champions League will be held between November and December, with seven teams qualifying through zonal qualifiers, including Cosafa joining the champions in Egpyt.